Tags

, , ,

I will be the first to admit, I have a sweet tooth. Whenever I see pastry shops I always want to go inside and check out what scrumptious treats lie behind the glass cases. Very rarely am I disappointed.

Cipriani Bakery is a treasure that I found while walking home from work one day. It lies on the quiet street of Via Carlo Botta 21/23 in an unpretentious building near the Metro A stop Vittorio Emanuele.

This is a fourth generation family pastry shop where everything is homemade exactly just like when bakery first opened. I had some difficulty deciding what to try because everything looked so good, but after 10 minutes of indecision I finally I chose a chocolate and pear torte. It was amazing! The crust was perfectly baked and the inside was a smooth mixture of rich, dark chocolate and sweet slices of pear. It was a fantastic after dinner snack.

The shop was opened by Pietro Cipriani in 1906, who was originally from the region of Umbria, just a few hours north of Rome. He arrived in Rome and began working as a busboy for a “forno” where he learned the basics of making breads and sweets. He then decided to open up his own shop and the rest is history. All the recipes haven been past down from father to son, keeping the family aspect of the bakery fully intact.

For more information about the bakery and their products check out their website: http://www.pasticceriacipriani.com/

Winter Hours
Mornings: 9.00am-1.30pm
Afternoons: 4.00pm-7.30pm
Closed: Sunday, Monday mornings and holidays

Summer Hours
Mornings: 9.00am-1.30pm
Afternoons: 4.00pm-7.30pm
Closed: Saturday afternoons, Sunday, Monday
and all holidays

